Reviews

From Booklist:

Blake O’Hara Heart has always taken pride in the fact that her lipstick doesn’t smudge and her hair doesn’t frizz in the Tuscaloosa heat. When she finds out that her brother-in-law, Lewis Heart, has disappeared after a salacious midday romp with a close friend, suddenly the sweltering southern heat seems unbearable. Tasked with maintaining her friend Vivi’s innocence, uncovering as many details as possible about Lewis’ disappearance, coddling her husband’s shifting career ambitions, and trying to untangle new feelings about an old flame, Blake feels her poised and perfect southern facade slowly cracking. Author Albright gives readers a delightfully fun and flirty story, focusing on a group of strong, sexy southern women and the men they care about. Although Lewis’ disappearance doesn’t end in the discovery of a grisly corpse, Albright raises the tension by providing a series of clues into Lewis’ past and Blake’s future. By turns tender, witty, steamy, and sharp, Albright’s debut novel proves she’s a gifted storyteller with intimate knowledge of southern culture. This charming tale is tailor-made for fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Anne George. — Stephanie Turza

From Publisher's Weekly:

There’s nothing former Days of Our Lives actress Albright’s Southern gals—and their moms, grandmothers and frenemies—won’t do to right wrongs, shed bad habits, and bag Mr. Right in this rambunctious chick-lit debut. Razor-sharp perfectionist Blake; her red-haired, hot-blooded BFF Vivi; often-married mom Kitty; spitfire grandmother Meridee; former step-sister and nemesis Dallas; and first-love and Tuscaloosa, Ala., cop Sonny unravel the possible murder of Blake’s brother-in-law Lewis, playboy and announcer for the University of Alabama Crimson Tide. His headline-grabbing disappearance puts Vivi in the hot seat since she was the last to see him—in room 106 of the Fountain Mist motel—and frays the thinning strands holding together the marriage of Blake and her ambitious lawyer-hubby Harry. More importantly, the mystery defines the complex bonds between Blake and Vivi, and reveals how each is “saved by a belle.”

Albright good-naturedly displays her inner redneck while steering this giddy Dixie romp with ease—leaving lots of room at the happy ending for another adventure starring these steel magnolias, who “take care of each other... stand our ground... and do it with high heels, big hair and lots of lipstick.” AGENT: Pam Van Hylckama Vlieg 408-836-5351 Foreword Literary

From RT Book Reviews:

Rating: 4 1/2 STARS!

You don’t have to be from the South to enjoy Albright’s debut, but if you are, you most certainly will. Moreover, if you’re a ‘Bama fan, this is a must-have book. Albright has crafted a witty and adorably charming read that will leave readers grinning from ear to ear. Nicely paced with hilarious characters, the only thing missing from this Southern delight is a glass of sweet tea.

When the voice of the Crimson Tide, Lewis Hart, goes missing, everyone suspects that Vivi Ann McFadden has something to do with his disappearance. Her best friend and attorney, Blake O’Hara Heart, is determined to help her friend solve the mystery and clear her name. Along the madcap way, one Sassy Belle sister will discover true love at last, while the other watches her marriage crumble right before her own eyes. Will old high school sweetheart and now homicide investigator Sonny Bartholomew be there to pick up the pieces?

From Manic Readers:

Rating: 5 STARS!

Vivi Ann McFadden comes from money. Thus this is why her sexual affairs must be kept in secret. Boy what a sexy affair it is too with her lover Lewis. Vivi and Lewis were having a ground shaking good time until Lewis stopped breathing. Vivi grabs her clothes and runs out the door calling her best friend and attorney, Blake O’Hara Heart.

Things get complicated when Lewis’s body is missing. In order to help clear Vivi’s name, Blake and Vivi know they must do some investigative work of their own. Things are about to get crazy.

There is a new group of fun, crazy, strong women in town. They are known as The Sassy Belles. They are here to stay. I just loved this book. My favorite of the Belles has to be Vivi. For all the things that come out of her mouth. Especially when she is nervous. For example when she was telling the lead detective, Sonny about her and Lewis’s steamy motel romp. OMG. I bet Sonny thinks twice about the specific questions he asks Vivi next time. Yes, there will be a next time. The romances that are blossoming are good matches as well. I cannot wait to read the next book, Wedding Belles.